Who We Are


Amy Rohling McGee, President

Reem Aly, Vice President, Healthcare System and Innovation Policy

Amy Bush Stevens, Vice President, Prevention and Public Health Policy

Nick Wiselogel, Vice President, Strategic Communications

Hailey Akah, Health Policy Analyst

Alana Clark-Kirk, Manager of Education and Communications

Neva Hornbeck, Office Manager

Zach Reat, Health Policy Analyst

Rebecca (Sustersic) Carroll, Health Policy Analyst


Fall 2017 interns

Sarah Perry is pursuing a master’s degree in Public Health, with a specialization in epidemiology, from the Ohio State University College of Public Health. She earned a bachelor’s degree in Public Affairs from the Ohio State University.

Dan Purkeypyle is pursuing a master’s degree in Public Administration from the Ohio State University John Glenn College of Public Affairs. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Political Science from Washington State University.

Interested in interning at HPIO?

The Health Policy Institute of Ohio (HPIO) offers internship opportunities to students who are interested in learning more about health policy and want to gain practical experience in the workplace. Click here for more details

Board of Directors

  • Shiloh Turner, Chair Independent consultant
  • Randy Runyon, Vice Chair President and CEO, Ohio Association of Community Health Centers­
  • Brian Pack, Treasurer Health Care Finance and Policy Officer, Ohio Public Employee Retirement System
  • Doug Anderson, Secretary Of Counsel, Squire Patton Boggs
  • Dr. Jennifer Chubinski Vice President, Innovation and Learning, Interact for Health
  • David Ciccone Assistant VP Community Impact & Sr. Impact Director, Health, United Way of Central Ohio
  • Daniel Cohn Program Officer, Mt. Sinai Foundation
  • Angela Cornelius Dawson Executive Director, Ohio Commission on Minority Health
  • Brad Fischer Executive Director for the Ohio and Kentucky markets, Aetna
  • Dr. Lesli Johnson Assistant Professor, Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs, Ohio University
  • Shannon Jones Executive Director, GroundWork Ohio & Commissioner, Warren County
  • Dr. Teresa C. Long Health Commissioner, City of Columbus
  • David Luby Executive Director, UnitedHealthcare
  • Dr. Jason Orcena Health Commissioner, Union County Health Department
  • Dr. Leonard M. Randolph, Jr. President, Phoenix Caduceus Consulting, Physician Leadership
  • Jan Ruma Vice President, Hospital Council of Northwest Ohio
  • Sam Shalala Director of New Business Development, Employers Health
  • Patty Starr Executive Director, Health Action Council
  • Michael Stinziano Columbus City Council
  • Dr. Craig Thiele Principal, Health Management Associates
  • Teleangé Thomas Director, The Foundation Center, Midwest
  • Heather Torok Senior Program Officer, Healthy People, Saint Luke’s Foundation


The following core funders are helping advance the health of Ohioans through informed policy decisions.

  • Interact for Health
  • Mt. Sinai Health Care Foundation
  • The George Gund Foundation
  • Saint Luke’s Foundation  of Cleveland
  • The Cleveland Foundation
  • HealthPath Foundation  of Ohio
  • Sisters of Charity Foundation of Canton
  • Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland
  • Cardinal Health Foundation
  • United Way of Greater Cincinnati
  • Mercy Health
  • CareSource Foundation
  • SC Ministry Foundation
  • United Way of Central Ohio

Support our work